Sunday, January 18, 2009

Introduction of Pancharamalu

Aaramalu=Living places)
These are one of the important Shiva peethas in South India.
These are situated in Andhra Pradesh.
The five places include:
1. Ksheeraraama at Palakollu.
2. Amararaama at Amaravathi.
3. Draksharaama at Draksharamam
4. Kumararaama at Samalkot.
5. Somaraama at Gunupudi Bhimavaram.
These five temples occupy a special place in Indian Temples of Lord Shiva.
The spiritual significance of these places is said based on different facts mentioned in varous puranas like Siva purana and Skanda purana.
One of the important facts aboutthese places lies in their common origin. All the Shiva lingas in these five places have taken their origin from A single Linga that was worshipped and worn by Tarakasura who was a great shiva bhakta.

1 comment:

  1. I accept that Tarakasura is a Shiva bhakta. But, he is a demon. Lord Shiva accepts the prayers of all, but, one who is sacred at heart can only retain the blessings. That is what shown in the story of Pancharamas. Tarakasura was killed by Kumara swamy. The Shiva linga may be first given to Tarakasura, but, Kumara swamy established the Pancharamas by the grace of Shiva.